Year’s Best Aotearoa New Zealand Science Fiction & Fantasy: Volume I

Edited by Marie Hodgkinson

The very best short SFF published by Kiwi writers in 2018. To be published in paperback and ebook formats in November 2019.

Cover of the Year's Best Aotearoa New Zealand Science Fiction and Fantasy: Volume I. Edited by Marie Hodgkinson. Cover art by Emma Weakley.

Table of contents:

“We Feed the Bears of Fire and Ice”, by Octavia Cade (originally published in Strange Horizons)

“A Most Elegant Solution”, by M. Darusha Wehm (originally published in Terraform)

“Girls Who Do Not Drown”, by Andi Buchanan (originally published in Apex Magazine)

“Logistics”, by A.J. Fitzwater (originally published in Clarkesworld)

“The Billows of Sarto”, by Sean Monaghan (originally published in Asimov’s Science Fiction)

“A Brighter Future”, by Grant Stone (originally published in Cthulhu: Land of the Long White Cloud (IFWG))

“The People Between the Silences”, by Dave Moore (originally published in Landfall)

“Common Denominator”, by Melanie Harding-Shaw (originally published in Wild Musette Journal)

“Te Ika”, by J.C. Hart (originally published in Cthulhu: Land of the Long White Cloud (IFWG))

“Trees”, by Toni Wi (originally published in Breach)

“The Garden”, by Isabelle McNeur (originally published in Wizards in Space)

“Mirror Mirror”, by Mark English (originally published in Abyss & Apex)

“The Glassblower’s Peace”, by James Rowland (originally published in Aurealis Magazine)

Cover art by Emma Weakley

Year’s Best Aotearoa New Zealand SFF: Volume I (paperback)

Preorder now to be among the first to receive your copy. Includes postage within Aotearoa New Zealand.


Volume II – 2020

If you are a New Zealand author who has had short SFF fiction published in 2019, I want to hear from you! Please see our call for submissions for the second volume in this anthology series.